Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
General discussions, feature requests for CodeTyphon Project and discussions that don't fit in any of the other specific CodeTyphon forum categories.

TOPIC:

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3267

  • RockyLuck
  • RockyLuck's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

az wrote: Try to open the "multilang" example from ORCA 2D and the lazarus is stuck...
This is the only example from ORCA that is stuck... any ideas...
Thank you...

The "multilang" example from ORCA 2D didn't work in CT 3 either.
Has something to do with the WideStringList in StringListBox2: TD2StringListBox, which cannot be initialized.
I already reported this bug in www.pilotlogic.com/sitejoom/index.php/fo...box-cannot-be-edited
That went unnoticed apparently, because there was no response.

In short, any time you try to edit a WideStringList in the Orca components with the property editor, the result will produce an Access Violation or worse.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by RockyLuck. Reason: Include quote

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3268

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4512
  • Thank you received: 1101
By default CTC run Scripts "Embedded"
select "Run in Xterm" at CommandBox page of CTC
and give sudo pass to xTerm...
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Sternas Stefanos.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3272

  • Dibo
  • Dibo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 37
  • Thank you received: 1
After changing to "Run in Xterm" I still get same errors when try to download toolchain library.
But now password popup when try to build toolchain, but get new errors. I'm trying create cross element for Win32 on Linux 64 bit, so I checked 64 bit host and final params are: lin64 x86_64-linux xxxx i386 win32 xxxx
And output:


BTW: Why now toolchains must be build manually? In CT 3.10 I just clicked on target element and CT built it.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3285

  • Dibo
  • Dibo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 37
  • Thank you received: 1
I have question about ORCA. What are plans about it? Promises to be a great alternative for Delphi FireMonkey but it is quite unstable on Linux (Mint 14 64bit, XFCE) for example: checkbox doesn't work, text edits too. Is it based on Cairo? I'm asking because I like new UI solutions (I'm also author and maintainer of BGRA Controls)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3286

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4512
  • Thank you received: 1101
Sir
pl_ORCA use and Cairo

We have big plans for this library
but we want help...
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Sternas Stefanos.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3288

  • RockyLuck
  • RockyLuck's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

sternas wrote: We have big plans for this library but we want help...

Here is my first help to you:

One of the bugs in the property editor of TD2WideStringList.Items is in module orca_scene2d_widestr.inc in function TD2WideStrings.GetTextStr. This is the corrected code (lines changed marked with "*** DB ***":

function TD2WideStrings.GetTextStr: String;
var
  I, L, Size, Count: Integer;
  P: PWideChar;
  S: String;
begin
  Count := GetCount;
  Size := 0;
  for I := 0 to Count - 1 do
    System.Inc(Size, Length(Get(I)) + 2);
  SetLength(Result, Size * 2 + 2);    // *** DB *** Widechars take 2 bytes
  P := Pointer(Result);
  for I := 0 to Count - 1 do
  begin
    S := Get(I);
    L := Length(S);
    if L <> 0 then
    begin
      System.Move(Pointer(S)^, P^, 2 * L);
      System.Inc(P, L);
    end;
    P^ := d2WideCarriageReturn;
    System.Inc(P);
    P^ := d2WideLineFeed;
    System.Inc(P);
  end;

  P^ := d2WideNull;          // *** DB *** SetText needs these nulls
end;    


If one of my people would produce a module like orca_scene2d_widestr.inc I would find that reason to fire him/her. I assume this module was not written by you, because I cannot think of any reason to pass parameters and return results as String type i.s.o. WideString. I think this module should be rewritten.

Anyway, this patch took care of the access violation, but the result is still not correct. I'll look into it further tomorrow.

Keep up the good work ;)

Dick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3289

  • RockyLuck
  • RockyLuck's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I found the old LAVA code. And I'm afraid it was you guys who decided to change all widestrings into strings. What were you thinking?
Please explain.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3290

  • Arioch
  • Arioch's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 59
  • Thank you received: 1
i heard that FPC 2.7 is going to make default string UTF-16 like Delphi since 2009+, maybe they were preparing for that ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3293

  • RockyLuck
  • RockyLuck's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

Arioch wrote: i heard that FPC 2.7 is going to make default string UTF-16 like Delphi since 2009+, maybe they were preparing for that ?

Maybe Mr Sternas should answer this himself.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3295

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4512
  • Thank you received: 1101
I don't understand the problem guys
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3298

  • RockyLuck
  • RockyLuck's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

sternas wrote: I don't understand the problem guys

That is absolutely ridiculous :S

I gave you a bug fix and you say: "I don't understand the problem". What's the matter with you?

I'll spell it out for you: the TD2Memo component uses Strings for the lines. But TD2WideStringList likes to have WideStrings. In stead of using WideStrings in all of TD2Scene's code, like it was in the pl_Lava package, you have made a strange mix. And it wreaks havoc for the editing of TD2WideStrings via the Items property editor. There the silly mixing of Strings and WideStrings crashes the system.

This time I expect a sensible answer, Mr. Sternas

Greetings ;-}
Dick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3299

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4512
  • Thank you received: 1101
1)Calm down, my first suggestion
2)second your "Fix" work on linux and freeBSD ?
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3303

  • RockyLuck
  • RockyLuck's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

sternas wrote: 1)Calm down, my first suggestion
2)second your "Fix" work on linux and freeBSD ?


If you find that you have no need for my 45 years of experience in programming and managing software projects, please say so.

Otherwise, stop insulting me

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3304

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4512
  • Thank you received: 1101
The subject is not "old meat or new meat".
Please if your want, you can help us
and we want help...
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3307

  • RockyLuck
  • RockyLuck's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

sternas wrote: Please if your want, you can help us
and we want help...


Before I can offer further assistance, please explain to me why it was necessary to switch from WideString to normal String in the implementation of Scene2D.
If I understand that, I may be better able to assist you guys.
Did it have anything to do with the Linux and FreeBSD implementations, that you mentioned?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3308

  • Chris
  • Chris's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Posts: 54
  • Thank you received: 4
Hi Sternas

I have successfully installed v4 in a real WinXP 32bit environment but I am struggling to do the same in a virtual box WinXP 32bit environment (the host is a Ubuntu 32bit system). The previous install for 3.1 worked fine and I have completely removed that to put this new version on.

I've tried removing it completely and attempted a reinstall but it still won't build :( - it comes back with the response below for an attempt to rebuild FPC and I get similar responses in any attempt to build Lazarus;

Start Action at 14/02/2013 17:57:56
_______________________________________________________________

=====================================================================
                 Build FreePascal 32bit  
=====================================================================


-------------------------------------------------------
                 Clean FreePascal 32bit 
-------------------------------------------------------
Makefile:203: *** The Makefile doesn't support target can't-executed,, please run fpcmake first.  Stop.

-------------------------------------------------------
                 Build FreePascal 32bit 
-------------------------------------------------------
Makefile:203: *** The Makefile doesn't support target can't-executed,, please run fpcmake first.  Stop.

-------------------------------------------------------
                 Install FreePascal 32bit 
-------------------------------------------------------
Makefile:203: *** The Makefile doesn't support target can't-executed,, please run fpcmake first.  Stop.

-------------------------------------------------------
                 Clean FreePascal 32bit 
-------------------------------------------------------
Makefile:203: *** The Makefile doesn't support target can't-executed,, please run fpcmake first.  Stop.

[INFO]: Clean finish...

[FINAL INFO]: FreePascal 32 Building, finish...


_______________________________________________________________
 
Terminate Action at 14/02/2013 17:57:58
Total time: 00:00:01.192
ExitCode : 0

Any ideas? Is the quickest way to fix just copy the working installation from a real machine over?

TheBlackSheep

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3309

  • Sternas Stefanos
  • Sternas Stefanos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ex Pilot, M.Sc, Ph.D
  • Posts: 4512
  • Thank you received: 1101
This is very mysterious
please, more info about VB XP, memory etc
PilotLogic Architect and Core Programmer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3342

  • f00l
  • f00l's Avatar
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Thank you received: 0
CodeTyphon 4.00 BigIDE Freeze when chang to Chinese IME
While SmallIDE is OK

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

CodeTyphon 4.00 GEN IV 11 years 2 months ago #3346

  • 4aiman
  • 4aiman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
  • Comix creator
  • Posts: 227
  • Thank you received: 12
Do you have the upper option checked in the "Advanced" tab in the "Text Services and Input Languages" window?
(To open it just right-click your keyboard layout indicator and choose "Options...")
コンソールマニアック

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by 4aiman.